Recognizing the People of University Presses

The Constituency Award

The AUPresses Constituency Award has recognized individuals from within the AUPresses community since 1991. Presented each year at the Association’s Annual Meeting, the Award honored staff at member presses who demonstrated active leadership and exemplary service to the Association and to the scholarly publishing community.

The Constituency Award Honor Roll is a distinguished one. Beginning with the Award’s inaugural recipient, Naomi Pascal (Washington), in 1991, this list includes individuals who have advanced all aspects of publishing—impacting editorial, design and production, marketing and sales, journals, financial, and technological processes not only at their own presses, but within larger communities of practice. Not surprisingly, Constituency Award recipients have often been recognized for their mentoring skills as well, and they have provided invaluable service to the Association as volunteer leaders of numerous initiatives, including the Association’s statistical surveys, listservs, and more.

As the Award retires in 2021, AUPresses offers a look back at this exceptional group of Constituency Award recipients >

Member UPdates

Each month, AUPresses recognizes the achievements, promotions, career moves, and retirements of members of the community through the Member UPdates section of the bulletin.

In Memoriam

The AUPresses community has lost a number of valued members this year.

The Reverend Nancy Essig, former Director of University of Virginia Press, passed away in October 2020. Essig had a long career in scholarly publishing starting in New York City and moving to Johns Hopkins University Press before retiring as Director of UVA Press in 2001. After retiring, she graduated from the Union Presbyterian Seminary, Richmond, Va., and served as the Minister at the Burkeville Presbyterian Church. Read her obituary.

Judith Knight, who had worked for the University of Alabama Press for thirty years, passed away in June 2020. Knight retired from her role as Senior Editor at the Press in 2010. However, her retirement was short-lived and in 2014 she became an Editor-at-Large with the University Press of Florida. In 2017, Knight received the Southeastern Archaeological Conference’s (SEAC) Lifetime Achievement Award; traditionally bestowed on scholars, Knight is the only publishing professional to ever be recognized with the distinction. Read her obituary 

Joseph B. Powell, General Manager of the University of the West Indies Press, passed away in April 2021. Powell was a student and scholar of the Caribbean with a career in scholarly publishing that spanned over 25 years. Prior to joining the Press in 2016, Powell had served as senior acquisitions editor at the University of Alabama Press, and as acquisitions editor at Louisiana State University Press. Read the news 

Harold Remus, former director of Wilfrid Laurier University Press, passed away in October 2020. Remus began his career as a professor in the Department of Religion and Culture at the university in 1974. Even after retirement, Remus continued to be an active member of the department and religious studies intellectual community of Waterloo. He had been the managing editor of the Council on the Study of Religion Bulletin and of Studies in Religion/Sciences Religieuses; and founding managing editor of Religious Studies Review. Remus was also an author and co-author of many scholarly journals, encyclopedias, Bible dictionaries and books in the academic study of religion and biblical studies. Read the announcement from WLUP.

John Stevenson passed away in March 2020. Stevenson worked as Manager of Production and Design at the University of Washington Press for eleven years, and was a freelance editor and author of books on Asian art, especially Japanese prints and Vietnamese ceramics.